• Home
  • /
  • Golf
  • /
  • How The Voting Broke Down For BBC Sports Personality Of The Year

How The Voting Broke Down For BBC Sports Personality Of The Year

PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Despite winning two majors, including The Open, being a key part of Europe's Ryder Cup win and finishing top of golf's money list, Rory McIlroy was beaten to the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award by Lewis Hamilton.

The Mercedes driver won his second F1 title last month.


The award was decided by public vote. Here's how it broke down. Hamilton got 33.8% of the vote, 13.9% more than McIlroy. Long distance runner Jo Pavey finished in third.

Historically you could say that the odds were against McIlroy winning. Only two golfers have won the award previously. The last being Nick Faldo in 1989.

See also: The Twitter World Is Outraged At The BBC Sports Personality Of The Year Winner
See also: Eye-Opening Tweet Shows How Much Rory McIlroy Has Changed In 7 Years

Picture credit: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com