Bookies are not happy with the lads at Sandown Park this afternoon.
Most of the 'high-street' bet takers have been forced into paying out on two winners after racing officials at today's meeting announced the wrong horse had won the 13.50 EBF Novice's Handicap Hurdle.
12-1 shot One For Rosie was initially called the winner of the Grade 3 contest, that despite Turlough O'Brien getting up on 9-1 gelding Third Wind in the dying strides.
It's one for the judge to separate between One For Rosie and Third Wind....
However, it's the former on the far side who hangs on to win the European Breeders' Fund Matchbook VIP "National Hunt" Novices' Handicap Hurdle Final for Nigel and Sam Twiston-Davies 😮👏 pic.twitter.com/lzq3dNPUTn
— Sandown Park (@Sandownpark) March 9, 2019
Officials seem to have been scrambled by the now infamous double-winning post scenario at the Kent racecourse.
The track has a befuddling arrangement which sees two separate finish lines used for jump racing events. One denotes the end for steeplechase races whilst a few yards further along, a second signals the culmination of the hurdles course.
Having wrongly announced One For Rosie, who did pass the first post in the lead on the inside, had won the race, it took a full ten minutes before the mistake was rectified and Third Wind was called the winner.
Paddy Power, Ladbrokes and BoyleSports have all confirmed via social media that they will pay out on both the Hughie Morrison trained winner and Nigel Twiston-Davies' grey.
We are paying out on both Third Wind AND One for Rosie as winner of the 1.50 Sandown. #racing pic.twitter.com/aXuVuV286c
— BoyleSports (@BoyleSports) March 9, 2019
We are paying out on BOTH One For Rosie and Third Wind as winners in the 1:50pm at Sandown.
Shops, online, singles, multis. The whole kit and caboodle. Enjoy! pic.twitter.com/NWBixqizoD
— Paddy Power (@paddypower) March 9, 2019
🚨 13:50 Sandown 🚨
One For Rosie ✅
Third Wind ✅
Confirmation that we're paying out on BOTH after some confusion regarding the photo-finish. pic.twitter.com/tOcF60mKsr
— Ladbrokes (@Ladbrokes) March 9, 2019
But the independent on course bookies were said to be spitting blood at the error with one chap storming the steward's room claiming the mistake had cost him £10,000.