Sunday Game Panel Reveal 2020 Hurling Team Of The Year

Sunday Game Panel Reveal 2020 Hurling Team Of The Year

Some day soon, Liam MacCarthy will join the Limerick hurlers on the other side of the Shannon and the Treaty county can fully celebrate their 2020 All-Ireland hurling win.

Limerick capped a perfect season with a forceful 11-point victory over Waterford. The post-All-Ireland final Sunday Game was different to other years as there was no postmatch banquet to broadcast from. However the panel did reveal their team of the year, and not surprisingly it was dominated by Limerick players. Nine Limerick players were named to the team, including four of the six backs and the goalkeeper.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Waterford have two representatives, while Clare, Galway and Kilkenny each have one player in the team.

Here's the the team in full:

Goalkeeper: Nicky Quaid (Limerick)


Fullback line: Sean Finn (Limerick), Dan Morrissey (Limerick), Daithi Burke (Galway)

Half-back line: Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick), Tadhg de Burca (Waterford), Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

Midfield: Cian Lynch (Limerick), Jamie Barron (Waterford)

Half-forward line: Géaroid Hegarty (Limerick), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Full-forward line: Stephen Bennett (Waterford), Aaron Gillane (Limerick), Tony Kelly (Clare)

Meanwhile manmountain Géaroid Hegarty was named as the panel's hurler of the year.

SEE ALSO: Limerick Might Be The Perfect Hurling Team

Balls Team

You may also like