• Home
  • /
  • Irish Life
  • /
  • Astonishing Year For Galway Capped Off As They Scoop Manager Of The Year

Astonishing Year For Galway Capped Off As They Scoop Manager Of The Year

Maurice Brosnan
By Maurice Brosnan
Share this article

The Philips Manager of the year for 2017 has been revealed as Galway hurling manager Micheál Donoghue.

Donoghue secured the accolade after steering Galway to their first All-Ireland title in 29 years.

The competitors for the award are the twelve winners of the year's Philips Sports Manager of the Month since December 2016. These include John Caulfield, Kieran Kingston, Jim Gavin and Jessica Harrington.

Donoghue took over from Anthony Cunningham in 2015 and delivered an All-Ireland in his second year, beating Waterford 0-22 to 1-26.


Donoghue has been involved in hurling coaching since 2013 when he was a member of the Tipperary coaching panel. As a player, he won a Minor and U21 All-Ireland title before delivering the trophy as a manager last year.

The winners of each month are listed below:

December 2016 - Willie Mullins


January 2017 - Mark Scannell


February 2027 - Brian Nugent

March 2017 - Jessica Harrington


April 2017 - Chris Hughton

May 2017 - Brendan Rogers

June 2017 - Aidan O'Brien


July 2017  - Kieran Kingston

August 2017 - Micheál Donoghue

September 2017 - Jim Given


October 2017 - John Caulfield

November 2017 - Joseph O'Brien

SEE ALSO: The Next Big Thing?- Irish 16-Year-Old Bags Stunning 10 Minute Hat-Trick In FA Youth Cup

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com