• Home
  • /
  • Irish Life
  • /
  • RTÉ's Nominees For Young Sportsperson & Manager Of The Year Revealed

RTÉ's Nominees For Young Sportsperson & Manager Of The Year Revealed

RTÉ's Nominees For Young Sportsperson & Manager Of The Year Revealed
Gary Connaughton
By Gary Connaughton
Share this article

RTÉ has announced the nominees for its 2020 Young Sportsperson of the Year and Manager of the Year awards.

Following on from revealing the contenders for the main award earlier this week, we now know who will be in contention for some of the other gongs.

Five names have been revealed for the Young Sportsperson of the Year shortlist, featuring a wide variety of sports.

The only GAA representative comes in the form of Mayo footballer Oisin Mullin who helped his county to the All-Ireland final, while snooker player Aaron Hill and darts player Keane Barry have also been nominated after some stellar form in their respective sports.

Cork native Hill made headlines in 2020 after beating Ronnie O'Sullivan at the European Masters, while Meath man Barry claimed both the BDO World Youths Championship Barry picked up the Junior Darts Corporation world title.

Boxer Katelynn Phelan is included after winning WBC youth title, as well as the WBF and WIBA belts in the welterweight division and boasting a pro record of 4-0.

The final nominee comes in the form of mountain biker Oisin O'Callaghan, who won a first ever downhill gold for Ireland at the Junior World Mountain Bike Championships in Austria.



Six nominees for the Manager of the Year have also been revealed.

Unsurprisingly, Limerick's John Kiely and Dublin's Dessie Farrell have both been included after leading their counties to All-Ireland glory.

Kilkenny camogie manager Brian Dowling is on the shortlist after helping the county overcome their recent history in All-Ireland finals to claim a first senior title since 2016, as is Dublin Ladies Football boss Mick Bohan.


The final two nominees come are horse racing trainer Joseph O'Brien and Shamrock Rovers manager Stephen Bradley.


Here are the nominees in full.

2020 RTÉ Young Sportsperson Of The Year Nominees

Oisin Mullen - GAA


Keane Barry - Darts

Aaron Hill - Snooker

Katelynn Phelan - Boxing


Oisin O'Callaghan - Mountain Biking 


2020 RTÉ Manager Of The Year Nominees

John Kiely - GAA

Dessie Farrell - GAA

Brian Dowling - Camogie

Mick Bohan - Ladies Football

Joseph O'Brien - Horse Racing

Stephen Bradley - Football

SEE ALSO: Brexit & Irish Football: A Below The Radar Opportunity

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com