The GAA Has Elected Its First Dublin President Since 1961

The GAA Has Elected Its First Dublin President Since 1961
By Conor Neville Updated

For the first time since 1961, a Dubliner will serve as President of the GAA. John Horan was elected President tonight after taking 144 votes on the 1st count.

The next closest candidates were Frank Burke (Galway) and Sean Walsh (Kerry), both of whom secured 46 votes. Martin Skelly (Longford) garnered 22 votes while Robert Frost (Clare) got 20 votes.

Horan has served as Leinster Council Chairman for the past few years. He was the only one of the five candidates who had not previously served as a county chairman. He was elected vice-chairman of the Leinster Council in 2011, and took the chairman's job three years later.

He is a member of the Na Fianna club. He gave an emotional speech to Congress, in which he thanked his wife, his club and commiserated with his fellow candidates.

He finished his speech by saying;

"I learned one thing in this process. If you wake up at night, count sheep, don't count votes. It doesn't work."

For the next year, Horan will be dubbed President elect. He will formally take over as GAA President from 2018 onwards.

Read more: "It Would Make The Strong Stronger" - How Does Your County Intend To Vote On Super 8 Proposal?

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by