• Home
  • /
  • Latest News
  • /
  • Red Carded Scarlets Player Free To Play in Pro12 Final Against Munster

Red Carded Scarlets Player Free To Play in Pro12 Final Against Munster

Red Carded Scarlets Player Free To Play in Pro12 Final Against Munster
By PJ Browne Updated

Scarlets winger Steff Evans has been cleared to play against Munster in this weekend's Pro12 final.

Evans was shown a red card in last Friday night's win against Leinster for a tip tackle on Garry Ringrose shortly before half time.

After consulting with his TMO, referee Marius Mitrea showed the 22-year-old a red card.

According to the disciplinary panel, Evans was cleared because he engaged in a lawful tackle. It was the intervention of teammate Samson Lee which made the tackle dangerous.

The Disciplinary Panel - Roddy Dunlop QC (Chair), Roddy MacLeod and Iain Leslie (all Scotland) - decided, by a majority, that the Player undertook a lawful tackle in a manner that was consistent with the laws of the game.

The tackle only became dangerous as a result of the intervention of Scarlets No 3 (Samson Lee). The Panel having directed itself under reference to the decision of the Appeal Committee in Ross Ford and Jonny Gray (RWC 2015) decided, by a majority, that this meant that the red card should be rescinded.

The player is therefore free to play.

The news a major boost to the Welsh side ahead of Saturday evening's game against Munster. Evans was the top try scorer in the Pro12 this season with 12, three ahead of Munster's Ronan O'Mahony.

Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Advertisement
Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com

Advertisement