"What goes around comes around," Roy Keane reminded us once. Keano himself felt the sharp brunt of those words on the line early doors tonight.
You could say what went around had already come around what with the Henry business and all that. But then the Georgians saw none of that good fortune.
It was against the poor Georgians that Ireland got that penalty in 2009, "one of the worst decisions" Roy had ever seen. The Irish lads went and shouted penalty but you suspect their heart wasn't in it. But didn't the referee go and offer it all the same.
Ireland, 1-0 down at the time, went on to win that 2009 match 2-1 and went all the way to the playoffs.
Tonight, Shane Long had a penalty shout denied after he was cut down in the box having slipped a pass inside.
Was it a penalty? "It would have a foul outside the box..." observed someone in here. As we know different rules apply inside the box. Although you'd have trouble finding them in the rulebook.