• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland Team To Play South Africa Named

Ireland Team To Play South Africa Named

Ireland Team To Play South Africa Named
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Ireland have announced six changes from the team that won the 6 Nations clincher in Paris on that fateful day. Injuries to Cian Healy, Rory Best, Andrew Trimble, Dave Kearney and the retirement of some man named Brian have forced Schmidt into some changes, while Gordon D'Arcy is given the week off. (Analysis and South African team below)

Ireland Team to Play South Africa, Saturday 8th November. KO 5pm.

15. Rob Kearney (Leinster)

14. Tommy Bowe (Ulster)

13. Jared Payne (Ulster)

12. Robbie Henshaw (Connacht)


11. Simon Zebo (Munster)

10. Jonny Sexton (Racing Metro)

9. Conor Murray (Munster)


1. Jack McGrath (Leinster)

2. Sean Cronin (Leinster)

3. Mike Ross (Leinster)


4. Devin Toner (Leinster)

5. Paul O'Connell (Munster, captain)

6. Peter O'Mahony (Munster)


7. Chris Henry (Ulster)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)



16 Richardt Strauss (Leinster)

17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)

18. Rodney Ah You (Connacht)


19. Mike McCarthy (Leinster)

20 Rhys Ruddock (Leinster)

21. Eoin Reddan (Leinster)

22. Ian Madigan (Leinster)


23. Felix Jones (Munster)

In the most interesting move, Robbie Henshaw is being converted into an inside centre, with debutant Jared Payne outside him, having been given the arduous task of filling the Irish 13 jersey. Tommy Bowe recovers from an injury that kept him out of the 6 Nations to take over on one wing, while Munster's Simon Zebo is deemed to be trusted enough by Schmidt to get the nod on the other wing.

One cause for concern will be the front row injuries to Best and Healy, with Leinster's Jack McGrath will prop up against the fearsome Springbok scrum, while Sean Cronin will give Ireland some much needed ball carrying ballast. Significantly for Ireland, Mike Ross is deemed fit enough to start. It's as you were elsewhere, with Sean O'Brien's injury allowing O'Mahony, Henry and Heaslip to continue their successful backrow tandem. Rhys Ruddock is rewarded for his fantastic improvement in the last 12 months with a place on the bench, where is he joined by Rodney Ah You, Richardt Strauss, and Felix Jones amongst others. This could be just Jones's 6th cap after 3 World Cup warm up appearances in 2011, and in the summer tour to America and Canada in 2013.

Richardt Strauss will be facing his second family reunion in as many weeks, after he was named as the replacement hooker, with his cousin Adriaan also on the Springbok bench. Strauss played for Leinster last week against his brother Andries for Edinburgh.

South African Team To Play Ireland:

15. Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)

14. Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs)

13. Jan Serfontein (Bulls)

12. Jean de Villiers (Stormers)

11. Bryan Habana (Toulon)

10. Handre Pollard (Bulls)

9. Francois Hougaard (Bulls)

1. Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks)

2. Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)

3. Jannie du Plessis (Sharks)

4. Eben Etzebeth (Stormers)

5. Victor Matfield (Bulls)

6. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks)

7. Tebo Mohoje (cheetahs)

8. Duane Vermuelen (Stormers)


16. Adriaan Strauss (Bulls)

17. Trevor Nyakane (Bulls)

18. Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs)

19. Bakkies Botha (Toulon)

20. Schalk Burger (Stormers)

21. Cobus Reinach (Sharks)

22. Pat Lambie (Sharks)

23. JP Pietersen (Sharks)

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com