• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • New Zealand Press Hit Back At Northern Hemisphere Dominated World XV's

New Zealand Press Hit Back At Northern Hemisphere Dominated World XV's

New Zealand Press Hit Back At Northern Hemisphere Dominated World XV's
Conor O'Leary
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

world xv

There has been something of a furore in New Zealand about the poorly titled Telegraph article detailing their "World XV". The selection featured four Englishmen, three Kiwis, five Irish, two South Africans, and an Argentine. There was no room for IRB player of the year Brodie Retallick, nor other impressive New Zealanders like Kieran Read, Richie McCaw or Julian Savea.

One probable explanation for this, is that this is an International team of the month which would make sense given the conclusion of the November internationals (here's our attempt). But the arrogant response from New Zealand has been breathtaking. Richard Knowler of stuff.co.nz responded with a world XV of this own, one which is probably closer to an actual world XV, but which still seems to have the November series in mind.

What's most interesting to Irish fans is the inclusion of two Irish players, and an honourable mention of another. Given that everyone in NZ lives, breathes and eats rugby, while looking down at the quality of other nations and their rugby. So for three Irish to be in the conversation for a World XV is nothing to be sniffed at.


The chosen two are IRB player of the year nominee Jonny Sexton who according to the article is the main reason for our rise up the world rankings. Paul O'Connell is the other inclusion, who while not as talented as Sam Whitelock, "O'Connell is the heart of the Irish pack."

Connacht's Robbie Henshaw gets a mention in the article too, noting how well he performed in the absence of Brian O'Driscoll, before giving the outside centre spot to Australia's Tevita Kuridrani.

Full Team:


15. Willie le Roux (South Africa), 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (Australia), 13. Tevita Kuridrani (Australia), 12. Jean de Villiers (South Africa), 11. Julian Savea (New Zealand), 10. Jonny Sexton (Ireland), 9. Aaron Smith (New Zealand ), 1. Joe Marler (England), 2. Agustin Creevy (Argentina), 3. Owen Franks (New Zealand), 4. Brodie Retallick (New Zealand), 5. Paul O'Connell (Ireland), 6. Chris Robshaw (England), 7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand), 8. Kieran Read (New Zealand)

See the full article here

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com