• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Australia Spring Surprises In Their Final World Cup Squad

Australia Spring Surprises In Their Final World Cup Squad

Australia Spring Surprises In Their Final World Cup Squad
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Ex-Leinster head coach Michael Cheika was the third to name his final 31-man squad for next month's Rugby World Cup. Australia are due to play the US Eagles in Chicago as a warm up on the 5th of September, Cheika has named his squad ten days before the August 31st deadline.

He has sprung several surprises, with some big name casualities and an unusual make up of the squad. Ordinarily, 99% of all Rugby World Cup squads have always brought three hookers and three scrumhalves as they are such a specialised position. However, Cheika has decided to bring just two of each position - allowing him more wiggle room in other positions.

Kane Douglas' move home as benefitted his World Cup dream, with his inclusion coming at the expense of former Australia captain James Horwill


This means that the hero against New Zealand - Nic White misses out, with Cheika preferring to use Toulon's utility back Matt Giteau as an emergency scrumhalf. There is a suggestion that Schmidt might follow Cheika's lead by only naming two scrumhalves, and having Madigan as an emergency scrumhalf option.

Giteau is joined in the squad by his Toulon team mate Drew Mitchell, but Wasps and Australia legend George Smith misses out.

Somewhat surprisingly, Scott Higginbotham, and everyone's favourite non-Irish player the Honey Badger Nick Cummins both miss out - with Cheika preferred Higginbotham's Rebels teammate Sean McMahon and Western Force's Ben McCalman.

Australia's 31 Man Rugby World Cup Squad:

Looseheads: Scott Sio, James Slipper, Toby Smith
Hookers: Stephen Moore (c), Tatafu Polata-Nau
Tightheads: Greg Holmes, Sekope Kepu
Second Row: Kane Douglas, Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton
Blindside Flankers: Scott Fardy, Sean McMahon
Openside Flankers: Michael Hooper, David Pocock
No. 8: Ben McCalman, Wycliff Palu
Scrumhalves: Will Genia, Nick Phipps
Outhalves: Quade Cooper, Bernard Foley
Inside Centres: Kurtley Beale, Matt Giteau, Matt Toomua
Outside Centres: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani
Wingers: Rob Horne, Drew Mitchell, Henry Speight, Joe Tomane
Fullback: Israel Folau.

See Also: Marty Moore Has One Last Chance To Prove Fitness For The World Cup
See Also: Nick Cummins Reaction To Being Called The "Honey Bear" On US TV Is Classic Honey Badger

Picture credit: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com