• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Brian O'Driscoll Names His Lions Starting XV

Brian O'Driscoll Names His Lions Starting XV

Brian O'Driscoll Names His Lions Starting XV
By Balls Team Updated
Share this article

It's just five days until Warren Gatland announces his Lions squad for this summer's tour of New Zealand.

The Lions will play 10 games in New Zealand, three of those being test matches against the All Blacks.

Gatland is expected to take a 37-man squad for the trip.

As always, there has been plenty of speculation about who Gatland will take on the tour and who will captain the squad.


Despite suffering a knee injury which is likely to keep him out for six weeks and the possibility that he may not start for the Lions, Sam Warburton is still the player who should captain the Lions according to Brian O'Driscoll.

O'Driscoll told Talking Rugby Union:

Sam Warburton has become the bookies favourite (and rightly so in my opinion) for the title after some impressive performances over the past couple of months. With some question marks over his future in the Wales team, he answered his critics in emphatic style with a big tournament, in his less favoured position of blindside flanker.

The former Ireland captain also named his Lions starting team.

It features five players from Ireland and England, four from Wales and one Scot.

Brian O'Driscoll Lions XV

1. Mako Vunipola - England
2. Jamie George - England
3. Tadhg Furlong - Ireland
4. Alun Wyn Jones - Wales
5. Maro Itoje - England
6. CJ Stander - Ireland
7. Sam Warburton - Wales
8. Billy Vunipola – England
9. Conor Murray - Ireland
10. Johnny Sexton - Ireland
11. George North - Wales
12. Owen Farrell - England
13. Robbie Henshaw - Ireland
14. Liam Williams - Wales
15. Stuart Hogg - Scotland

Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE


Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com