Tadhg Furlong Selected First In BT Sport's Lions Draft

Tadhg Furlong Selected First In BT Sport's Lions Draft

BT Sport held a Lions draft on Wednesday evening.

Lawrence Dallaglio, Ben Kay, Geordan Murphy and Sam Warburton were those making the selections. (The Scots will surely feel hard done by once again.)

The rules allowed the selectors to choose one Lions legend for their side. They also had to choose a bolter not currently playing for England, Ireland, Scotland or Wales.

Ireland's Tadhg Furlong was selected first in the draft by former England international Kay.

"We saw what happened to England in the final of the Rugby World Cup," said Kay.

"To beat South Africa, you'll need to have a decent set piece. They're going to attack at the scrum.

"I'm going to go with tighthead prop first. I know it's not the most exciting, but this guy, the way he plays, it is very exciting."


Warren Gatland's Lions squad for the tour of South Africa is due to be named next week.

Ben Kay's Lions draft XV

15. Liam Williams
14. Jack Nowell
13. Jonathan Davies
12. Henry Slade
11. Jonny May
10. Dan Biggar
9. Conor Murray

1. Ellis Genge
2. Keith Wood (Legend wildcard)
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Joe Launchbury
5. Jonny Hill
6. Tadhg Beirne
7. Tom Curry
8. Sam Simmonds


Lawrence Dallaglio's Lions draft XV

15. Max Malins
14. Josh Adams
13. Brian O'Driscoll (Legend wildcard)
12. Owen Farrell
11. Louis Rees-Zammit
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Luke McGrath

1. Wyn Jones
2. Jamie George
3. Kyle Sinckler
4. Iain Henderson
5. Alun Wyn Jones
6. Josh Navidi
7. Justin Tipuric
8. Billy Vunipola

Geordan Murphy's Lions draft XV

15. Stuart Hogg
14. Keith Earls
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Finn Russell
9. Ben Youngs

1. Joe Marler
2. Ken Owens
3. Andrew Porter
4. Jonny Gray
5. Willie-John McBride (Legend wildcard)
6. Sam Underhill
7. Peter O'Mahony
8. CJ Stander


Sam Warburton's Lions draft XV

15. Leigh Halfpenny
14. Anthony Watson
13. George North
12. Manu Tuilagi
11. Duhan van der Merwe
10. Jonny Wilkinson (Legend wildcard)
9. Danny Care

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie
3. Tomas Francis
4. Maro Itoje
5. James Ryan
6. Courtney Lawes
7. Hamish Watson
8. Toby Faletau

BT Sport rugby reporter Alastair Eykyn was tasked with selecting which of the teams was most likely to beat South Africa. He chose Sam Warburton's selection.

Jack Conan: 'We Watched It Back On Monday, Everyone Had A Good Laugh At My Expense'

jack conan injuries leinster ireland

PJ Browne
Article written by
Kerryman. Write mostly about Gaelic games and athletics. Did not win a 2008 NBA title with the Boston Celtics.

You may also like