Irish Provinces Name Sides Ahead Of Champions Cup Weekend

Irish Provinces Name Sides Ahead Of Champions Cup Weekend

All four Irish provinces have named their squads for this weekend's round of Champions Cup action, the penultimate round of European games for 2019.

Last year's Champions Cup finalists Leinster have named five changes to their starting XV since their victory over Lyon in the last round of the competition. Dave Kearney, Jamison Gibson-Park, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner and Caolan Doris have all been handed starts by Leo Cullen, with Josh Murphy being the only member of the last round's match-day 23 not included for this weekend.

The side kick-off the weekend for the Irish with a lunch-time game against Northampton Saints at Franklin's Gardens tomorrow.

Ulster have made only one change to their starting XV since their impressive win over Clermont Auvergne in Belfast. Craig Gilroy comes into the side in place of Will Addison as the province welcomes Harlequins to the Kingspan Stadium.

Andrew Warwick, Matthew Rea and Matt Faddes also come into the match-day 23 in place of Kyle McCall, Nick Timoney and Addison.


Meanwhile, Munstser have also made a number of changes since their draw with Racing 92 ahead of the visit of the European champions, Saracens, on Saturday evening. James Cronin, Stephen Archer and Billy Holland come into the team for Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan and Jack O'Donoghue.

Liam O'Connor, Nick McCarthy and Sam Arnold also come into the match-day 23, in place of Loughman, Alby Mathewson and Dan Goggin.

Connacht will be the last of the Irish sides to take to the field over the weekend when they travel to the Kingsholm Stadium to play Gloucester on Sunday afternoon. Andy Friend has made nine changes since the side lost to Toulouse in the last round, with Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Jack Carty, Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Joe Macksymiw and Jarrad Butler coming into the starting XV.


Jonny Murphy and Stephen Kerins also come into the match-day squad.


Leinster: Jordan Larmour, Dave Kearney, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, James Lowe, Johnny Sexton (Capt), Jamison Gibson-Park; Cian Healy, Rónan Kelleher, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner, James Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: James Tracy, Ed Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Scott Fardy, Max Deegan, Luke McGrath, Ross Byrne, Rob Kearney.



Ulster: Jacob Stockdale, Louis Ludik, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy, Billy Burns, John Cooney; Eric O'Sullivan, Rob Herring, Marty Moore, Alan O'Connor, Iain Henderson (Capt), Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Andrew Warwick, Tom O'Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Matthew Rea, David Shanahan, Bill Johnston, Matt Faddes.


Munster: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (Capt), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Liam O’Connor, John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Nick McCarthy, Sammy Arnold, Arno Botha.


Connacht: John Porch, Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Kyle Godwin, Jack Carty, Caolin Blade; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Joe Maksymiw, Quinn Roux, Eoghan Masterson, Colby Fainga’a, Jarrad Butler (Capt).

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Matthew Burke, Dominic Robertson McCoy, Ultan Dillane, Robin Copeland, Stephen Kerins, Conor Fitzgerald, Tom Daly.

SEE ALSO: Officials Announced For Ireland's 2020 Six Nations Games

Aonghus Ó Maicín

You may also like