• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Conor Murray Voted Irish Players' Player Of The Year

Conor Murray Voted Irish Players' Player Of The Year

Conor Murray Voted Irish Players' Player Of The Year
By PJ Browne

Conor Murray has been voted Players' Player of the Year by his fellow Irish professionals.

The Munster scrum-half has had a superb season, being an integral part of Ireland team which defeated the All Blacks for the first time and a Munster team which topped the Pro12 and progressed to the semi-final of the Champions Cup. Also, he is almost certain to the Lions first choice scrum-half against the All Blacks.

The other players nominated for the award included Tadhg Furlong, Robbie Henshaw and CJ Stander.

At a ceremony on Wednesday night, Garry Ringrose picked up the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year for 2017.

The centre made his Ireland debut against Canada in November and has this season locked down a place in the Leinster midfield. Ringrose's Leinster teammate Joey Carbery and Munster's Darren Sweetnam were the other players nominated.

Tadhg Furlong was named Supporters' Player of the Year.

The Leinster tighthead has enjoyed a breakthrough season at international level, establishing himself as Ireland's undoubted first choice for the number three shirt and a likely starter for the Lions this summer.


Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Watch: Leinster Fans Need To See New Signing James Lowe's Incredible Reaction To 'Scare Cam' Prank

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com