Eight Changes Made To Ireland Team To Play Australia In Second Test

Eight Changes Made To Ireland Team To Play Australia In Second Test

Joe Schmidt has made eight changes to the Ireland team which will face Australia in Melbourne on Saturday from the one which lost in Brisbane last week.

As expected, Johnny Sexton comes in to start the game at out-half in place of Joe Carbery.

There are two other switches in the backline with Andrew Conway and Garry Ringrose taking the places of Jacob Stockdale and Bundee Aki, respectively.

The starting XV will have an entirely new front row with Cian Healy, Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong coming in for Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and John Ryan.

In the second row, Iain Henderson drops out with Devin Toner taking his place while in the backrow Dan Leavy starts instead of Jordi Murphy at openside.

On the bench, Tadhg Beirne is set to win his first cap for Ireland.

Ireland team to play Australia in second test

15. Rob Kearney
14. Andrew Conway
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Keith Earls
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray
1. Cian Healy
2. Niall Scannell
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. James Ryan
5. Devin Toner
6. Peter O'Mahony
7. Dan Leavy
8. CJ Stander


16. Rob Herring
17. Jack McGrath
18. Andrew Porter
19. Tadhg Beirne
20. Jordi Murphy
21. John Cooney
22. Joey Carbery
23. Jordan Larmour

Australia have named an unchanged 23 for the game.

Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

PJ Browne
Article written by

You may also like