• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland Name Sevens Squads For This Weekend's Paris Tournament

Ireland Name Sevens Squads For This Weekend's Paris Tournament

Ireland Name Sevens Squads For This Weekend's Paris Tournament
By Aonghus Ó Maicín
Share this article

The countdown continues to next year's World Rugby Sevens Series, as Ireland get another opportunity to test themselves against the best in the world this weekend.

Anthony Eddy's side have been invited to take part at the Paris Sevens event this weekend at Stade Jean-Bouin where they will hope to reproduce some of the rugby that helped them finish sixth at last weekend's event in London.

The Irish squad heading to Paris has a similar feel to the one that competed in London, though there are four changes as Eddy prepares the squad for July's Rugby Europe Olympic qualifier in Colomiers.


Ireland will once again play England on Saturday afternoon, with Fiji and Argentina making up the numbers in a difficult pool.


Ahead of the tournament, Eddy said:

The players put in a good showing last weekend in London and it gives us a good idea of where we are at as a group. With the main focus at the moment being Olympic qualification, this weekend in Paris is another good opportunity for the players to test themselves against the world’s top teams.

Ireland's first game of the weekend is against Argentina on Saturday at 11.28am Irish time.


Ireland men's sevens squad:

Jack Daly (Garryowen/Munster)
Shane Daly (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Billy Dardis (UCD) (Capt)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne)
Cormac ‘Izzy’ Izuchukwu (Old Wesley)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University/Leinster)
Hugo Lennox (Clontarf)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Peter Maher (Old Belvedere)
Mick McGrath (Clontarf)
Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon)
Peter Sullivan (Lansdowne)

Meanwhile, the Irish women's sevens squad will play two exhibition games against France during the tournament ahead of the final leg of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Biarritz later this month.


Their Olympic qualifier event takes place in Kazan, Russia - also in July.

Ireland women's sevens squad:

Kathy Baker (Blackrock/Leinster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (Railway Union/Ulster)
Emily Lane (Mallow/Munster)
Anna McGann (UCD/Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster) (Capt)
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

SEE ALSO: "We're Not Worried About What Hasn't Been Done Before' - Stockdale On His World Cup Ambition

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com