• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland Name 31-Man Rugby World Cup Squad Ahead Of Schedule

Ireland Name 31-Man Rugby World Cup Squad Ahead Of Schedule

Ireland Name 31-Man Rugby World Cup Squad Ahead Of Schedule
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Ireland have announced their 31-man Rugby World Cup squad six days ahead of schedule.

Schmidt submitted his squad for the tournament to World Rugby today but was not expected to make an official announcement until Sunday, the day after Ireland's final warm-up game against Wales.

The squad being leaked to a number of newspapers early on Monday likely forced Schmidt to show his hand.

As reported earlier, Devin Toner misses out with Munster's South African-born second row Jean Kleyn taking his place.

Contrary to earlier reports, Chris Farrell makes the squad with Will Addison missing out.

Other big names to miss out include Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion and Ulster backrow Jordi Murphy.

The squad will be captained by Rory Best.


Ireland play Scotland in their opening game of the tournament on September 22nd.

Ireland Rugby World Cup Squad


Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Keith Earls, Jacob Stockdale, Andrew Conway



Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Garry Ringrose, Chris Farrell




Jonathan Sexton, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty


Conor Murray, Luke McGrath


Loosehead props

Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne

Tighthead props


Tadhg Furlong, Andrew Porter, John Ryan


Rory Best (captain), Niall Scannell, Sean Cronin


Second rows

James Ryan, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne,


CJ Stander, Peter O'Mahony, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan, Rhys Ruddock

See Also: Conor Murray Pinpoints Why Rory Best Is Still The Man To Captain Ireland

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com