• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Who Will Make Ireland's RWC Squad? Part 1: Forwards

Who Will Make Ireland's RWC Squad? Part 1: Forwards

Who Will Make Ireland's RWC Squad? Part 1: Forwards
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

With just one more game for Ireland before their final 31-man squad will be decided, it's time for every Irish fan to give their say on who should make the final squad.

Joe Schmidt has kept his thoughts close to his chest, but what he has confirmed is that the 31 man squad will be split between 17 forwards and 14 backs.

At least 12 players are sure to be on the plane across the Irish sea barring injury, leaving just five places left among the other ten forwards in the squad.

Those 12 that are confirmed are:

1. Cian Healy
2. Jack McGrath
3. Rory Best
4. Sean Cronin
5. Richardt Strauss
6. Mike Ross
7. Paul O'Connell
8. Devin Toner
9. Iain Henderson
10. Peter O'Mahony
11. Sean O'Brien
12. Jamie Heaslip


That leaves a fourth back row player and a second tight-head place available.

For the final three places - Schmidt must decide whether he wants to bring six props for maximum coverage, or only bring five props and having someone who can play both sides of the scrum.


Should he only choose five props - he'll be able to bring both a fifth back rower and a fourth second row. If he wants to have the most about of coverage at the front row positions - he'll be forced to chose between the two.

What would you do? Answer the poll below to decide the final five spots in Ireland's 17 forwards in the Rugby World Cup squad.

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com