• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • The Ireland Squad For The Tour To Argentina Has Been Announced

The Ireland Squad For The Tour To Argentina Has Been Announced

The Ireland Squad For The Tour To Argentina Has Been Announced
Paul O'Hara
By Paul O'Hara
Share this article
Montpellier v Ulster - Pool 5 Round 2 - Heineken Cup 2013/14

Joe Schmidt has announced his 30-man squad for the upcoming two-Test to Argentina next month. He has included four uncapped players - forwards trio of James Cronin (Munster), Robbie Diack and Rob Herring (pictured above, both Ulster), as well as Connacht scrum half Kieran Marmion.

Somewhat surprisingly, Paul O'Connell will captain the side in South America. Jonathan Sexton will take his place in the squad too. Cian Healy, Gordon D’Arcy and Sean Cronin have been given time off, while Tommy Bowe and Sean O'Brien are excused from the series.

Ian Madigan will be lining out for Ireland next month, but it won't be in a southern hemisphere Test match - he will instead head to Romania with the Emerging Ireland panel. No, seriously.


Simon Zebo will return to the side following his Six Nations omission, while Dave Kearney has been forced out after picking up a serious knee injury in the Pro12 semi-final against Ulster last Saturday.

The touring party will leave for Argentina on June 1, the day after the Pro12 final. The first Test will be held a week later at Estadio Centenario in the northern city of Resistencia, Chaco Province..

The second Test will be played at Estadio José Fierro in Tucumán on June 14.

Ireland Squad – Summer Tour to Argentina: 

Forwards (16)
Rory Best (Ulster) 75 caps
James Cronin (Munster) uncapped
Robbie Diack (Ulster) uncapped
Iain Henderson (Ulster) 10
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 14
Jamie Heaslip (Leinster) 65
Rob Herring (Ulster) uncapped
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster) 8
Jack McGrath (Leinster) 8
Marty Moore (Leinster) 5
Jordi Murphy (Leinster) 2
Paul O’Connell (Munster) 92
Mike Ross (Leinster) 39
Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) 2
Devin Toner (Leinster) 15
Damian Varley (Munster) 2


Backs (14)
Darren Cave (Ulster) 5
Keith Earls (Munster) 39
Robbie Henshaw (Connacht) 3
Paddy Jackson (Ulster) 9
Felix Jones (Munster) 5
Rob Kearney (Leinster) 54
Kieran Marmion (Connacht) uncapped
Luke Marshall (Ulster) 5
Fergus McFadden (Leinster) 26
Conor Murray (Munster) 27
Eoin Reddan (Leinster) 54
Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro) 43
Andrew Trimble (Ulster) 55
Simon Zebo (Munster) 6

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com