• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Sheehan Out As Ireland Team Named For Blockbuster France Clash

Sheehan Out As Ireland Team Named For Blockbuster France Clash

Sheehan Out As Ireland Team Named For Blockbuster France Clash
Eoin Harrington
By Eoin Harrington
Share this article

Andy Farrell has named his second Ireland team of the Six Nations, off the back of last weekend's dominant win against Wales in Cardiff.

This weekend's clash with France poses an altogether more daunting task, with world number two side France coming to Dublin in a game which is likely to decide the fate of this year's Six Nations trophy.

With Robbie Henshaw, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, and Jamison Gibson-Park all still sidelined by injuries, it was always going to be a trickier team selection for Andy Farrell than usual.

Fitness concerns emerged surrounding Dan Sheehan and Conor Murray in the hours leading up to team announcement, and the big news is that Ireland's first choice hooker Sheehan has been ruled out through injury. Rob Herring comes in to the starting XV, while Ronan Kelleher returns to the bench after injury.

Andy Farrell's team is otherwise as expected, with no other changes to the team that won in the Millennium Stadium.

Last year's game in Paris saw France run out narrow winners, and Farrell will be hoping home advantage stands to his Ireland team this weekend. Ireland v France gets underway at 2:15pm in Dublin on Saturday, with the game live on RTÉ 2 and ITV 1. It marks the first time ever that the top two ranked sides in world rugby have played each other in the Six Nations.

Andy Farrell names Ireland team for mega France clash

Ireland XV to play France

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster)


14. Mack Hansen (Connacht)

13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)


11. James Lowe (Leinster)

10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster)


9. Conor Murray (Munster)


1. Andrew Porter (Leinster)

2. Rob Herring (Ulster)

3. Finlay Bealham (Connacht)


4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

5. James Ryan (Leinster)

6. Peter O'Mahony (Munster)


7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster)

8. Caelan Doris (Leinster)

Ireland replacements to play France

16. Ronan Kelleher, 17. Dave Kilcoyne, 18. Tom O'Toole, 19. Iain Henderson, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Craig Casey, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Bundee Aki

Earlier on Thursday, France named their team for Saturday's blockbuster clash with Ireland. There are no changes to the starting XV from the French's nervy opening weekend win over Italy, with the only changes coming on the bench.

Flanker Francois Cros comes in for Thomas Lavault, while scrum-half and late call-up Baptiste Couilloud comes in for Nolann Le Garrec.

France XV: Thomas Ramos, Damian Penaud, Gael Fickou, Yoram Moefana, Ethan Dumortier; Romain Ntamack, Antoine Dupont; Cyril Baille, Julien Marchand, Uini Atonio; Thibaud Flament, Paul Willemse; Anthony Jelonch, Charles Ollivon, Gregory Aldritt

France replacements: Gaetan Barlot, Reda Wardi, Sipili Falatea, Romain Taofifenua, Francois Cros, Sekou Macalou, Baptiste Couilloud, Matthieu Jalibert

SEE ALSO: The Greatest Comebacks From Painful Moments In Irish Sport

Irish comebacks
Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com