• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Big Names Return To Ireland Team For Massive Scotland Clash

Big Names Return To Ireland Team For Massive Scotland Clash

Big Names Return To Ireland Team For Massive Scotland Clash
Eoin Harrington
By Eoin Harrington
Share this article

The Ireland team has been named for Sunday's crucial Six Nations clash against Scotland.

Murrayfield will be a daunting task, but Andy Farrell has been able to call on some of the biggest names in his squad who had been missing in recent weeks, with Johnny Sexton, Tadhg Furlong, Garry Ringrose, and Dan Sheehan all returning to the starting XV.

There is also a welcome return for Robbie Henshaw to the bench, in what is a mighty strong Irish squad.

With Ireland sitting on three wins from three, and Scotland sitting directly behind them in the Six Nations table with two wins from three, Sunday's fixture is set to play a pivotal role in deciding the fate of this year's championship.

Ireland have had mixed fortunes in Edinburgh in recent years, with two wins and a loss from their last three Six Nations visits. With Scotland in rejuvenated form, Sunday is set to be a massive test for Andy Farrell's Irish side. The game gets underway at 3pm on RTÉ 2 and BBC One.

Ireland team named for crucial Scotland trip

Ireland XV to play Scotland

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster)

14. Mack Hansen (Connacht)


13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

12. Bundee Aki (Connacht)

11. James Lowe (Leinster)


10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster, captain)

9. Conor Murray (Munster)


1. Andrew Porter (Leinster)


2. Dan Sheehan (Leinster)

3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

4. Iain Henderson (Ulster)


5. James Ryan (Leinster)

6. Peter O'Mahony (Munster)

7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster)


8. Caelan Doris (Leinster)

Ireland replacements to play Scotland

16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster), 17. Cian Healy (Leinster), 18. Tom O'Toole (Ulster), 19. Ryan Baird (Leinster), 20. Jack Conan (Leinster), 21. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster), 22. Ross Byrne (Leinster), 23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster)

Scotland have also named a strong squad to face high-flying Ireland, with the in form Duhan van der Merwe set to pose a major threat on the wing. Jamie Ritchie will captain the side at Murrayfield.

Scotland XV: Stuart Hogg, Kyle Steyn, Huw Jones, Sione Tuipulotu, Duhan van der Merwe; Finn Russell, Ben White; Pierre Schoeman, George Turner, Zander Fagerson, Richie Gray, Johnny Gray, Matt Fagerson, Jamie Ritchie (captain), Jack Dempsey

Scotland replacements: Fraser Brown, Jamie Bhatti, Simon Berghan, Scott Cummings, Hamish Watson, Ali Price, Blair Kinghorn, Chris Harris

SEE ALSO: Ciarán Frawley Call Up Proves Andy Farrell's Recognition Of Weak Spot

Ciarán Frawley Hugo Keenan Andy Farrell Ireland

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com