• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ryan And Carbery Start As Ireland Team To Face Japan Is Named

Ryan And Carbery Start As Ireland Team To Face Japan Is Named

Ryan And Carbery Start As Ireland Team To Face Japan Is Named
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

James Ryan will captain Ireland in their summer series game against Japan in Dublin on Saturday.

The Leinster second row was surprisingly not called up to the Lions squad for the tour of South Africa as a replacement for injured captain Alun Wyn Jones. The IRFU announced on Monday that the second row was suffering from an adductor issue, though that injury has not ruled him out of this weekend's game.

Saturday's game will see Joey Carbery return to the Ireland jersey for the first time since the defeat to New Zealand at the 2019 World Cup. The Munster out-half will be partnered in the half-backs by Leinster scrum-half Jamison Gibson-Park.

The starting team features five players - Chris Farrell, Jacob Stockdale, Josh van der Flier, Peter O’Mahony and James Ryan - who started in the defeat to Japan at the 2019 World Cup.

Munster backrow Gavin Coombes takes a place on the bench, and will be hopeful of making his Ireland debut.


Ireland other game this summer is against the USA on July 10th.

Saturday's match kicks off at 3pm, and will be live on RTÉ.


Ireland team to play Japan

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 11 caps
14. Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 29 caps
13. Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 14 caps
12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 4 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 34 caps
10. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 22 caps
9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 9 caps
1. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 43 caps
2. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 11 caps
3. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 14 caps
4. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 18 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 35 caps captain
6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 75 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 31 caps
8. Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) 7 caps


16. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 21 caps
17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 4 caps
18. John Ryan (Munster/Cork Constitution) 23 caps
19. Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 3 caps
20. Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped
21. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 1 cap
22. Billy Burns (Ulster) 6 caps
23. Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Constitution) 1 cap


See Also: Two Changes As Ireland U20 Six Nations Team To Play England Is Named

ireland team to play japan july 2021

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com