Joe Schmidt Names Much Changed Ireland Team To Face Scotland

Joe Schmidt Names Much Changed Ireland Team To Face Scotland

Joe Schmidt has named his Ireland team to face Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Mainly due to injuries, it features five changes from the side which lost to England last weekend.

After playing at fullback versus England, Robbie Henshaw has dropped out of the team due to injury. Henshaw had been expected to make the switch to outside centre due to a hamstring injury suffered by Garry Ringrose. However, Henshaw did not train on Thursday morning due to a dead leg. Chris Farrell will instead take Ringrose's place and Rob Kearney comes in at fullback.

At number eight, CJ Stander, who suffered a facial injury against England which rules him out of this weekend's game and also the one against Italy, is replaced by Jack Conan.

Also in the back row, Josh van der Flier is replaced by Sean O'Brien. Van der Flier takes a spot on the bench.

Quinn Roux takes Devin Toner's place in the second row after the Leinster man aggravated an ankle injury against England.

Ireland team to play Scotland

1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. James Ryan
5. Quinn Roux
6. Peter O'Mahony
7. Sean O'Brien
8. Jack Conan
9. Conor Murray
10. Johnny Sexton
11. Jacob Stockdale
12. Bundee Aki
13. Chris Farrell
14. Keith Earls
15. Rob Kearney


16. Sean Cronin
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Andrew Porter
19. Ultan Dillane
20. Josh van der Flier
21. John Cooney
22. Joey Carbery
23. Jordan Larmour

Scotland team to play Ireland

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Finn Russell (Racing 92), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne - captain); Allan Dell (Edinburgh), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks).

Replacements: Jake Kerr (Leicester Tigers), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), D'Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh).

Scotland vs Ireland kicks off at 2:15pm on Saturday.

Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

See Also: How A Switch From Back To Front Forged Ireland's U20s Man Of The Match

PJ Browne
Article written by

You may also like