Henshaw Included In Starting Ireland Team To Face Samoa

Henshaw Included In Starting Ireland Team To Face Samoa

Joe Schmidt has named his starting Irish team to face Samoa, with a number of changes to the side which took on Russia last Thursday.

The good news is that Robbie Henshaw has been included in the starting line-up after recovering from injury. Jordan Larmour comes in at full back with Rob Kearney rested entirely. Jacob Stockdale starts in place of Andrew Conway, while Conor Murray is back in also.

There are a raft of changes among the forwards with only Tadhg Beirne remaining in the starting team, moving to 6 alongside a backrow of Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander.

Johnny Sexton starts again, with Schmidt indicating after the Russia game that they intend to give him more minutes against Samoa, compared to the one half of rugby he got last week. Meanwhile Joey Carbery is back on the bench after withdrawing from the squad just before the start of the Russia match last week.

Ireland team v Samoa


15. Jordan Larmour
14. Keith Earls
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Jonathan Sexton
9. Conor Murray
1. Cian Healy
2. Rory Best
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Iain Henderson
5. James Ryan
6. Tadhg Beirne
7. Josh van der Flier
8. CJ Stander

16. Niall Scannell
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Andrew Porter
19. Jean Kleyn
20. Peter O’Mahony
21. Luke McGrath
22. Joey Carbery
23. Andrew Conway


Mark Farrelly
Article written by
Balls Media Audience Development Manager. Former Miss World 1997 contestant.

You may also like