• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • 32-Man Irish Squad Named Ahead Of U20 World Championship

32-Man Irish Squad Named Ahead Of U20 World Championship

32-Man Irish Squad Named Ahead Of U20 World Championship
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

An extended 32-man Ireland panel has been named ahead of next month's World Rugby U20 Championship in Argentina.

The squad will be reduced to a 28-man squad before travelling for the tournament.

Ireland, who are sponsored by PwC, won the U20 Six Nations Grand Slam earlier this year but head into the World Championship shorn of several important players.

Harry Byrne, David Hawkshaw, Scott Penny and Conor Phillips have all be ruled out due to injury.

The group features six players who are uncapped at this level. Those include Declan Adamson, Thomas Ahern, Azur Allison, Charlie Ward, Adam LaGrue and Stewart Moore.

The team will be captained by Leinster's Charlie Ryan while Munster's Craig Casey will act as vice-captain.

Ireland U20 extended panel for World Championship



Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)
Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
John Hodnett (UCC)
David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Callum Reid (Banbridge/Ulster)
Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
Ronan Watters (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)


Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) Vice-Captain
Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
Sean French (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
Bruce Houston (Ballymena/Ulster)
Iwan Hughes (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Adam LaGrue (Terenure College/Leinster)
Stewart Moore (Malone/Ulster)
Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)


Ireland have been placed in Pool B along with Australia, England and Italy. The tournament takes place between June 4th and June 22nd.

Ireland face England in Santa Fe on the opening day.

Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile


Win A Trip To The Pro14 Final: Get 7 Out 10 In Our Pro14 Quiz

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com