• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Nine Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Face Italy In Six Nations

Nine Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Face Italy In Six Nations

Nine Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Face Italy In Six Nations
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Ireland U20 head coach Richie Murphy has made nine changes to his side to face Italy on Wednesday from the one which was defeated by England last Thursday.

Jamie Osborne, Nathan Doak, Alex Kendellen, Alex Soroka, Harry Sheridan and Sam Illo are the players retained from that 24-15 defeat, Ireland's first of this year's U20 Six Nations tournament.

Kendellen switches to openside flanker, a move which allows Daniel Okeke to come in at number eight. There are three more changes in the pack with George Saunderson starting at loosehead, Eoin de Buitléar at hooker, and Mark Morrissey in the second row.

Following his recovery from a facial injury sustained against Scotland in Ireland's opening game, James Humphreys starts at out-half. There is an all-new midfielder with Ulster pair Jude Postlethwaite and Ben Carson set to made their first starts at this grade.

The final changes see Conor Rankin and Chay Mulllins named to start on the wings.

"We’ve had to dust ourselves down following the disappointment of last week and the focus of the group has been really good as we bid to bounce back against Italy," said Ireland head coach Murphy.


"It has been a demanding schedule but this presents players with opportunities and there are a number of guys who have worked really hard to earn their selection this week. We’re looking forward to seeing them in action in the green jersey."


Wednesday's game kicks off at 2pm, and will be live on RTÉ2.

Ireland U20 team to play Italy in Six Nations

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
14. Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
13. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
12. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
11. Chay Mullins (SGC Filton/Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)
10. James Humphreys (Dean Close School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
9. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

1. George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
2. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin/An Ghaeltacht/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
3. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
4. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
6. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
7. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain)
8. Daniel Okeke (Ardscoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster).



16. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
17. Jack Boyle (St. Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
18. Liam Bishop (Trent College/Nottingham University/IQ Rugby)
19. Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster)
20. Jack Kelleher (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)
21. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
22. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
23. Josh O’Connor (St Peter’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
24. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
25. Levi Vaughan (Terenure College/Terenure RFC/Leinster)
26. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster).

Analysis: Lots For Ireland U20s To Build On Despite Disappointing Defeat To England

ireland u20 team play italy 2021 six nations

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com