• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Two Changes As Ireland U20 Six Nations Team To Play England Is Named

Two Changes As Ireland U20 Six Nations Team To Play England Is Named

Two Changes As Ireland U20 Six Nations Team To Play England Is Named
By PJ Browne
Share this article

Ireland U20 head coach Richie Murphy has made just two changes from the starting team which defeated Wales last Friday to the one which will face England on Thursday in the Six Nations.

Both changes are in the front row. They see Temi Lasisi coming in at loosehead prop for Jack Boyle and Sam Illo taking the place of Mark Donnelly at tighthead. Both Boyle and Donnely take places on the bench.

The team will again be captained by Munster's Alex Kendellen.

The tournament thus far has been a prosperous one for the Ireland U20 team, who are sponsored by PwC. They defeated Scotland 38-7 in the opening game and Wales 40-12. Both were bonus point victories.

England have also had bonus point wins against France and Scotland.

"We have been pleased with our start to the Championship," said the head coach, "but we know we must continue to make improvements week-on-week, starting on Thursday evening against a very strong England side.


"The squad have worked incredibly hard on optimising our recovery in between matches and we go into Thursday’s game confident that we are moving in the right direction."


Thursday's game at Cardiff Arms Park kicks off at 8pm and will be live on the RTÉ News Now channel.

25 June 2021; Alex Kendellen of Ireland celebrates with his team-mates after scoring a try during the U20 Six Nations Rugby Championship match between Wales and Ireland at Cardiff Arms Park in Cardiff, Wales. Photo by Chris Fairweather/Sportsfile

Ireland U20 team to play England in 2021 Six Nations

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
14. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
13. Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
12. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
11. Chris Cosgrave (St. Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
10. Tim Corkery (St. Kieran’s College, Kilkenny/UCD RFC/Leinster)
9. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

1. Temi Lasisi (CBS Enniscorthy/Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
2. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
3. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
4. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
6. Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
7. Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
8. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster) (capt)



16. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin/An Ghaeltacht/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
17. Jack Boyle (St. Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
18. Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen FC/Munster)
19. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
20. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
21. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
22. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
23. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
24. Jack Kelleher (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)
25. Daniel Okeke (Ardscoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster)
26. Chay Mullins (SGC Filton/Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)

Analysis: Nathan Doak's Star Turn And The Other Big Performances For The Ireland U20s Win Against Wales

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com