• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • The Ireland U20 Team To Play Scotland Named

The Ireland U20 Team To Play Scotland Named

The Ireland U20 Team To Play Scotland Named
By Conor O'Leary
Share this article

Ireland U20's have named their matchday squad to play Scotland in their crucial second game in Pool C game tomorrow.

Ireland have made four changes to the team that beat Argentina, with Sean McNulty and Andrew Porter coming in for Zack McCall who drops to the bench and the injured Jeremy Loughman. The other change in the pack sees Munster's latest academy recruit Conor Oliver take over from Connacht's Rory Moloney at openside.

In the backs, winger Ciaran Gaffney comes back into the team after being a late withdrawal.

Ireland will need a win to give them the best chance of qualifying for the semi-finals before their final pool game against New Zealand next Wednesday, after narrowly getting past Argentina in their opening game. Scotland were hammered by New Zealand in their first game 68-10; but were able to beat Ireland in the Six Nations by 17-10.


Ireland, bolstered by the return of several key players who were missing that game, will be hoping for a reversal of that game. Scotland will be looking to dominate up front lead by highly promising U19 tighthead prop Zander Fagerson who has already debuted for Glasgow in the Pro12.

The game will be live on TG4 tomorrow with kickoff at 3.30pm.

Ireland U20 Team To Play Scotland U20, Pool C World Rugby U20 Championship

15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
10. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (Capt)
1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
2. Sean McNulty (UCD/Leinster)
3. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
4. David O'Connor (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
5. Alex Thompson (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)
6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
7. Conor Oliver (St Mary's/ Leinster)
8. Lorcan Dow (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)


16. Zack McCall (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)
17. Liam O'Connor (Cork Constitution /Munster)*
18. Conan O'Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
19. Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Nick Timoney (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
21. Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
22. Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
23. Jacob Stockdale (Queen's University Belfast/Ulster)

See Also: GIF: Ireland U20s beat Argentina With Dramatic Last Gasp Penalty
See Also: 5 Stars Who Used Last Year's U20 World Cup As A Springboard

Picture credit: Massimilliano Pratelli / SPORTSFILE

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com