• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Two Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales Is Named

Two Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales Is Named

Two Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales Is Named
By Dylan Ryan Updated
Share this article

There are two changes to the Ireland U20 team which will face Wales on Friday from the one which defeated Scotland last weekend.

Ulster winger Ben Moxham, who will be making his U20 debut, replaces the injured Ethan McIlroy. The other change sees Clane's Marcus Hannan step in for Charlie Ward at loosehead.

There are also three changes on the bench with Harry Noonan coming in for Ciaran Ryan, Charlie Ward for Ryan McMahon and Cian Prendergast for Alexis Soroka.

"We got things started on a positive note on Friday night in Cork and now that we are up and running in the Championship, we are looking forward to improving upon that performance," said Ireland head coach Noel McNamara.

This Friday night presents a new challenge against Wales. The players have worked hard during the week with the emphasis very much on ourselves and building towards this week’s game.

We are excited about getting out and performing in front of our supportive and enthusiastic home crowd at Irish Independent Park.


Ireland take on Wales this Friday at 7:15pm in Irish Independent Park. The game will be live on RTÉ2.

Ireland U20 team to play Wales

15. Oran McNulty (Millfield School / Corinthians RFC / Connacht)
14. Ben Moxham (Ballymena RFC / Ballymena RFC / Ulster)
13. Dan Kelly (Kirkham Grammar / Loughborough University / IQ Rugby)
12. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
11. Andrew Smith (St Michael’s College / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
10. Jack Crowley (Bandon RFC / Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
9. Lewis Finlay (Down High School / Malone RFC / Ulster)

1. Marcus Hannan (Clane RFC / Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
2. Tom Stewart (Belfast Royal Academy / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
4. Thomas Ahern (Waterpark RFC / Shannon RFC / Munster)
5. Brian Deeny (Wexford Wanderers / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
6. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College / UCD RFC / Leinster)
7. Mark Hernan (St Michael’s College / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
8. David McCann (RBAI / Banbridge RFC / Ulster)(captain).



16. John McKee (Campbell College / Old Belvedere / Leinster)
17. Harry Noonan (Greystones RFC / Old Wesley RFC / Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Tullow RFC / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
19. Joe McCarthy (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
20. Cian Prendergast (Newbridge College / UCD RFC / Leinster)
21. Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
22. Tim Corkery (Kilkenny RFC / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
23. Luis Faria (Newpark Comprehensive / Dublin University FC / Leinster)

See Also: The Future Is Bright For Munster's Most Problematic Position As Another U20 Star Shines

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com