• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Six Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales In Six Nations Is Named

Six Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales In Six Nations Is Named

Six Changes As Ireland U20 Team To Play Wales In Six Nations Is Named
PJ Browne
By PJ Browne
Share this article

The Ireland U20 team to play Wales in Friday night's Six Nations clash has been named.

It features six changes from the side which had a bonus point victory over Scotland in the opening game last weekend.

There are three changes in the backline with Chris Cosgrave coming in for Josh O'Connor on the wing, Tim Corkery replacing James Humphreys at out-half and Nathan Doak taking the place of Conor McKee at scrum-half.

There is a shuffle in the forwards as Alex Soroka moves from blindside flanker to the second row. Donnacha Byrne will wear the number six jersey with Mark Morrissey dropping out of the team.

The final changes are in the front row. Jack Boyle comes in for Temi Lasisi at loosehead and Mark Donnelly for Sam Illo at tighthead.

"We were pleased to get off to a winning start last weekend but the very nature of this championship means you have to turn the page quickly and focus on the next challenge," said Ireland head coach Richie Murphy.


"We identified areas of our game that needed improvement after Scotland and we have been working on them this week. Wales will be a tough test at their home ground but the group are looking forward to the challenge and building on last week’s performance."


Friday's game at Cardiff Arms Park kicks off at 8pm and will be live on RTÉ2.

Ireland U20 team to play Wales

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)
14. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
13. Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
12. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
11. Chris Cosgrave (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
10. Tim Corkery (St Kieran’s College, Kilkenny/UCD RFC/Leinster)
9. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

1. Jack Boyle (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
2. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)
3. Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen RFC/Munster)
4. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)
5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)
6. Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
7. Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
8. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain).



16. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiáran/An Ghaeltacht/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
17. George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
18. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
19. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)
20. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
21. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
22. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
23. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
24. Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster)
25. Daniel Okeke (Ard Scoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster)
26. Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

Photo by Chris Fairweather/Sportsfile


Analysis: Three Standout Performances From The Ireland Under-20s Big Win Against Scotland

ireland u20 team to play wales 2021 six nations

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com