• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland U20s Lineup Named For Opener Against Wales

Ireland U20s Lineup Named For Opener Against Wales

Ireland U20s Lineup Named For Opener Against Wales
Jonathan Browne
By Jonathan Browne
Share this article

Richie Murphy has named his starting 15 for Ireland U20 Six Nations opener against Wales on Friday 4th February. Ulster flanker Reuben Crothers will captain the side for the match in Cork.

There's not much experience in the Ireland squad as Crothers is only one of four players along with Jack Boyle, Chay Mullins and Mark Morrissey to have featured in last year's Six Nations.

Ireland name team for U20s opener v Wales

There are definitely some names to look out for in the Ireland squad. Firstly, Patrick Campbell at fullback is the most well-known player in the squad after his escapades with the Munster first team in December. He looked great against seasoned pros so it will be interesting to see how he gets on here.


Charlie Tector at out-half is another one to look out for as the former Kilkenny College man has been tipped for a bright future. James Culhane in the back row as well could be another one for the conveyor belt of promising Leinster back rows and will get a chance to show what he's got.

Ireland host Wales on Friday night in Musgrave Park and kick-off is at 8pm. The game will be live on RTÉ 2 with coverage starting at 7:30pm.

Ireland U20s Squad to face Wales 

15. Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
14. Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)
13. Fionn Gibbons (UCD RFC/Leinster)
12. Ben Brownlee (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
11. Shane Mallon (UCD RFC/Leinster)
10. Charlie Tector (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
9. Matthew Devine (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
1. Jack Boyle (UCD RFC/Leinster)
2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
3. Scott Wilson (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster)
4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster) (c)
8. James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Ireland Replacements:

16. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
17. Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
18. Rory McGuire (UCD RFC/Leinster)
19. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)
20. Ronan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC/Munster)
21. Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
22. Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)
23. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)



SEE ALSO: Watch: Emotional Scenes As Sekope Kepu Named Moana Pasifika Captain

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com