• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • New Wave Of Byrne, Scannell And Wycherley Included In Ireland U20s Squad

New Wave Of Byrne, Scannell And Wycherley Included In Ireland U20s Squad

New Wave Of Byrne, Scannell And Wycherley Included In Ireland U20s Squad
By Maurice Brosnan
Share this article

Noel McNamara has named a 40-man squad for the upcoming 2019 U20 Six Nations Championship.

The panel contains just five players who were capped across last seasons U20 Six Nations and World Rugby U20 Championships.

Leinster and Clontarf man David Hawkshaw is named as captain. The former Dublin minor hurler will have Craig Casey and Charlie Ryan as vice-captains.

Also included in the squad is Leinster's Harry Byrne and Munster's Billy Scannell. The pair follow in the footsteps of their respective brothers, Ross, and Niall and Rory, in playing for the Ireland U20s.


Munster's Josh Wycherley, younger brother of Fineen, is also included.

McNamara unveiled the squad at PWC, the official team sponsors. He expressed his excitement at the current pool. "There's a lot of talent in the playing group, we're looking forward to seeing these young men run out in the green jersey over the coming weeks."

Their campaign gets underway on Friday, February 1 against England U20s at Irish Independent Park.



Azur Allison (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Ryan Baird (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Tom Clarkson (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Giuseppe Coyne (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Brian Deeney (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
John Hodnett (UCC RFC/Munster)
Paddy Kelly (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Ryan Lomas (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
Luke Masters (Shannon RFC/Munster)
David McCann (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
JJ McKee (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
John McKee (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Michael Milne (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
Scott Penny (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster) * Vice-Captain
Billy Scannell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians RFC/Connacht) *
Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Josh Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)


Harry Byrne (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) *
Craig Casey (Shannon RFC/Munster) Vice-Captain
Jake Flannery (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Sean French (Cork Constitution RFC/Munster)
Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
David Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC/Old Belvedere) Captain
Ben Healy (Garryowen RFC/Munster)
Bruce Houston (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Iwan Hughes (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University RFC / Ulster) *
James McCarthy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster) *
Stewart Moore (Malone RFC/Ulster)
Oli Morris (Saracens / IQ Rugby)
Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD RFC/Leinster/IQ Rugby)
Conor Phillips (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
Colm Reilly (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
Rob Russell (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Liam Turner (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)

(*denotes previously capped at U20 level)


SEE ALSO: Eddie Jones Outlines Bizarre Plan To Convert Winger Jack Nowell Into A Flanker

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com