• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Ireland U20s Remain Completely Unchanged For Friday's Italy Clash

Ireland U20s Remain Completely Unchanged For Friday's Italy Clash

Ireland U20s Remain Completely Unchanged For Friday's Italy Clash
Colman Stanley
By Colman Stanley
Share this article

Ireland U20s head coach Richie Murphy has named an unchanged squad for Ireland's Six Nations match with Italy on Friday night (kick-off 7.15pm).

While the fixture in the seniors' Six Nations is often seen as the perfect opportunity to rotate the squad and provide 2nd/3rd choice players with more game time, Italy U20s will not and should not be taken lightly.

So far this campaign they have lost by just seven points to England, away from home, and missed a conversion with the last kick of match to beat France in their opening game of the tournament.

Ireland were saved last week, thanks to a clutch penalty kick from Sam Prendergast, in their 33-31 win over the French at Musgrave Park, to continue their quest for a historic second Grand Slam in a row.

While Prendergast has been Ireland's stand out player this tournament, the likes of Paddy McCarthy, Brian Gleeson, Hugh McErlean, and George Hadden are young men who will also instil excitement for the future of Irish rugby.

Ireland U20s Sam Prendergast With His Brother And Senior International Cian 

10 February 2023; Sam Prendergast of Ireland with his brother Cian Prendergast after the U20 Six Nations Rugby Championship match between Ireland and France at Musgrave Park in Cork. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

READ HERE: The Ireland U20s Giant Who Traded A Hurley And Tipp Colours For An Oval Ball And A Green Jersey

Ireland U20s:

15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
13. Hugh Cooney (Clontarf/Leinster)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster)

1. George Hadden (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Paddy McCarthy (DUFC/Leinster)
4. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster)
7. Ruadhán Quinn (Old Crescent/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)



16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
20. Jacob Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster)
22. Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Rory Telfer (Queen’s University/Ulster).

SEE ALSO: Balls.ie's Greatest Ireland U20s XV Of All-Time

ireland u20s

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com