• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Twelve New Caps In Exciting Ireland U20s Team To Face England

Twelve New Caps In Exciting Ireland U20s Team To Face England

Twelve New Caps In Exciting Ireland U20s Team To Face England
Maurice Brosnan
By Maurice Brosnan
Share this article

Noel McNamara has named an exciting Irish side for the opening U20 Six Nations clash against England at Irish Independent Park on Friday.

The Ireland team, sponsored by PWC, have a huge opening tie against last year's World Rugby Championship finalists. Captain and Leinster academy prospect David Hawkshaw will start at centre to accommodate Harry Byrne, brother of Ross, at out-half.


Leinster rugby's latest star Scott Penny starts in the back row alongside John Hodnett and Martin Moloney. The front-row sees Josh Wycherley and Thomas Clarkson start alongside Connacht hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin, who wins his second U20 cap having made his debut at last season’s U20 World Championships.

England have also named their team with Harlequins’ Marcus Smith, who has played both Premiership and European rugby, set to start.



Ireland team: 

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon RFC / Munster)
14. Conor Phillips (Young Munster RFC / Munster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University FC / Leinster)
12. David Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC / Leinster) Captain
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)*
9. Craig Casey (Shannon RFC / Munster)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster RFC / Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians RFC / Connacht)*
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University FC / Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC / Leinster)*
5. Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC / Connacht)
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
7. Scott Penny (UCD RFC / Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC RFC / Munster)


16. John McKee (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD RFC / Leinster)
18. Ryan Lomas (Galwegians RFC / Connacht)
19. Brian Deeny (Clontarf FC / Leinster)
20. David McCann (Banbridge RFC / Ulster)
21. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College RFC / Munster)
22. Sean French (Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
23. Rob Russell (Dublin University FC / Munster)

 SEE ALSO: How Connacht Create A Valuable Atmosphere For The Champions Of Tomorrow

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com