• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Teenage Prop Set For Ireland Debut In Six Nations Opener Vs Wales

Teenage Prop Set For Ireland Debut In Six Nations Opener Vs Wales

Teenage Prop Set For Ireland Debut In Six Nations Opener Vs Wales
By PJ Browne Updated
Share this article

Two uncapped players have been named in the Ireland matchday squad for their opening game of the Six Nations against Wales.

18-year-old Ulster prop Sadhbh McGrath has been named at loosehead after impressing head coach Greg McWilliams during the recent Celtic Challenge competition. Leinster prop Niamh O'Dowd will likely make other Ireland debut off the bench.

18 February 2023; Sadhbh McGrath of Combined Provinces XV during the Celtic Challenge 2023 match between Combined Provinces XV and Welsh Development XV at Kingspan Stadium in Belfast. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

The team will be captained from the second row by Nichola Fryday.

Edel McMahon and Aoife Wafer have been unfortunately ruled out of the Championship through injury.

"The start of a Championship campaign is always an exciting time and we come into this weekend ready to get to task against a strong Welsh side," said McWilliams.


"We have had a good block of preparation and this is the start of the next chapter on our journey, which we started as a group in Japan last summer."

Ireland play Wales at 2:15pm in Cardiff on Saturday. The game will be shown live on RTÉ2 and the BBC iPlayer.

Ireland team to play Wales in Women's Six Nations

15. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)(2 caps)
14. Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC/Munster)(12)
13. Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(2)
12. Enya Breen (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(16)
11. Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(2)
10. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)(21)
9. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)(4)


1. Sadhbh McGrath (City of Derry/Cooke RFC/Ulster)*
2. Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury/Ulster)(13)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(24)
4. Nichola Fryday (Exeter Chiefs/Connacht)(29)(Captain)
5. Sam Monaghan (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)(10)
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(16)
7. Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)(3)
8. Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)(10)


16. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC/Munster)(4)
17. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)*
18. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(5)
19. Jo Brown (Worcester Warriors/IQ Rugby)(1)
20. Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby)(5)
21. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)(14)
22. Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)(2)
23. Vicky Irwin (Sale Sharks/Ulster)(1).


See Also: Irish Squad Rocks Up To Garry Ringrose's Gaff To Keep Grand Slam Party Going

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com