• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Joe Schmidt Makes Five Changes For Series Decider Against Australia

Joe Schmidt Makes Five Changes For Series Decider Against Australia

Joe Schmidt Makes Five Changes For Series Decider Against Australia
By PJ Browne Updated

Joe Schmidt has made five changes to the Ireland team which will face Australia in Sydney on Saturday to the one which beat the Wallabies in Melbourne last weekend.

Bundee Aki and Jacob Stockdale come back into the team in place of injured duo Garry Ringrose and Andrew Conway.

In place of Dan Leavy, Jack Conan gets his first start of the tour in the back row. Leavy left the action in the second test due to injury. Conan will play number eight with CJ Stander switching to six and Peter O'Mahony to openside.

At hooker, Schmidt continues to rotate. Sean Cronin gets his first start Down Under. The final change is in the front row, Jack McGrath takes a place at loosehead prop with Cian Healy among the replacements.

Iain Henderson was not available for selection due to injury.

On the bench, Ross Byrne catches the eye. The Leinster out-half takes the place of Munster-bound Joey Carbery and could earn his first Ireland cap.

Ireland team to play Australia in third test

15. Rob Kearney
14. Keith Earls
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray


1. Jack McGrath
2. Sean Cronin
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. James Ryan
6. CJ Stander
7. Peter O'Mahony
8. Jack Conan

16. Niall Scannell
17. Cian Healy
18. John Ryan
19. Tadhg Beirne
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Kieran Marmion
22. Ross Byrne
23. Jordan Larmour

The Australian team for the game has also been named. The starting XV sees two changes with Lukhan Tiu coming into the back row in place of Caleb Timu and Nick Phipps taking the place of the injured Will Genia.

Australia team to play Ireland

1. Scott Sio (45 Tests)
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (2 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (93 Tests)
4. Izack Rodda (6 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (22 Tests)
6. Lukhan Tui (6 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (81 Tests)
8. David Pocock (68 Tests)
9. Nick Phipps (63 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (57 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (10 Tests)
12. Kurtley Beale (73 Tests)
13. Samu Kerevi (20 Tests)
14. Dane Haylett-Petty (20 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (64 Tests)


16. Tolu Latu (6 Tests)
17. Tom Robertson (20 Tests)
18. Taniela Tupou (3 Tests)
19. Rob Simmons (84 Tests)
20. Ned Hanigan (12 Tests)
21. Pete Samu (2 Tests)
22. Joe Powell (3 Tests)
23. Reece Hodge (26 Tests)


Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

See Also: Draw Made For 2018/19 Champions Cup Pool Stage

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com