• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Team To Face Wales In Cardiff On Saturday

Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Team To Face Wales In Cardiff On Saturday

Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Team To Face Wales In Cardiff On Saturday
By Gary Connaughton Updated

Joe Schmidt has named the Ireland team to take on Wales this weekend, making a number of changes to the side that was hammered in Twickenham last time out.

After much conversation around his performance in the England game, captain Rory Best has been replaced in the front row by Munster's  Niall Scannell. The side will be captained by Peter O'Mahony.

Jack Conan has been been given the nod at number eight, while Will Addison will be given an opportunity to impress at fullback. Iain Henderson will partner James Ryan in the second row, while Tadhg Beirne starts at the back of the pack.

IRELAND TEAM: Will Addison; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; James Ryan, Iain Henderson; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O'Mahony (capt), Jack Conan.


Replacements: Andrew Porter, Rory Best, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Jordi Murphy, Luke McGrath, Ross Byrne, Garry Ringrose.

Wales have also named their team for the game, with Warren Gatland handing out two debuts. Rhys Carré and wing Owen Lane both make their first starts for the Welsh.

This will be the final game for Gatland in Cardiff, with the Kiwi set to step aside after the World Cup in Japan.


Wales starting XV:

15. Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues)
14. Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues)*
13. Scott Williams (Ospreys)
12. Owen Watkin (Ospreys)
11. Steff Evans (Scarlets)
10. Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues)
9. Aled Davies (Ospreys)
1. Rhys Carre (Saracens)*
2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets)
3. Samson Lee (Scarlets)
4. Adam Beard (Ospreys)
5. Bradley Davies (Ospreys)
6. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
7. James Davies (Scarlets)
8. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (CAPT)



16. Elliot Dee (Dragons)
17. Rob Evans (Scarlets)
18. Leon Brown (Dragons)
19. Jake Ball (Scarlets)
20. Ross Moriarty (Dragons)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues)
22. Rhys Patchell (Scarlets)
23. Jonah Holmes (Leicester Tigers)

SEE ALSO: The Buildup Ep 4 - Ferris On Ireland Crisis, Jason Quigley Hypes Lomachenko, All-Ireland Best Bets

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com