• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Just A Single Leinster Player Makes The URC Dream Team

Just A Single Leinster Player Makes The URC Dream Team

Just A Single Leinster Player Makes The URC Dream Team
Colman Stanley
By Colman Stanley
Share this article

The URC have released their 'Team of the Year' for the 2021/22 season, which rather interestingly features just a single Leinster player in Ross Byrne.

The Stormers, who finished second in the table behind Leinster have the highest representation with five players, while the Bulls have three and the Sharks have two.

Two Munster players make the team, Jean Kleyn and Craig Casey, while James Hume and Nick Timoney make it after impressive seasons for Ulster.

Timoney topped the URC tackle charts for the season, making 60 more than any other player, while Hume was highly placed in the defenders beaten charts.

Marcell Coetzee makes the team after another phenomenal season following his move from Ulster to the Bulls. The flanker showed his try scoring prowess once more with ten scores, and he also topped the offload table.

The Stormers' number eight Evan Roos is in the team and was arguably the overall player of the year, making the most successful carries and beating the most defenders.

The full team is as follows:


1. Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks)

2. Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls)

3. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)


4. Jean Kleyn (Munster)

5. Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)

6. Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls)


7. Nick Timoney (Ulster)


8. Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)

9. Craig Casey (Munster)


10. Ross Byrne (Leinster)

11. Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)

12. Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers)


13. James Hume (Ulster)

14. Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers)

15. Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers)

The following awards were also given out:

Tackle Machine: Alan O’Connor (Ulster)

Turnover King: Jac Morgan (Ospreys)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys)

Top Try Scorer: Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)

Ironman: Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)

Other awards including the Coach of the Year, Players' Player of the Year, Next-Gen Star, and Fans' Player of the Year, will be revealed in the lead-up to the Grand Final.

SEE ALSO: Watch: Larmour Stars As Leinster Break Records In Massacre Of Glasgow

leinster urc

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com