• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Warren Gatland Names Lions Squad For Tour Of New Zealand

Warren Gatland Names Lions Squad For Tour Of New Zealand

By PJ Browne Updated
Share this article

Warren Gatland has named his 41-man Lions squad for this summer's tour of New Zealand.

The squad comprises of 16 players from England, 12 from Wales, 11 from Ireland and two from Scotland.

Welsh back row, Sam Warburton, like he did four years ago in Australia, will captain the team.

Lions squad:


Stuart Hogg, Leigh Halfpenny


George North, Jack Nowell, Anthony Watson, Liam Williams, Tommy Seymour


Elliot Daly, Robbie Henshaw, Ben Te'o, Jonathan Davies, Jared Payne, Jonathan Joseph


Jonathan Sexton, Owen Farrell, Dan Biggar


Conor Murray, Ben Youngs, Rhys Webb


Joe Marler, Mako Vunipola, Jack McGrath, Tadhg Furlong, Kyle Sinckler, Dan Cole


Rory Best, Ken Owens, Jamie George


Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Courtney Lawes, Alun Wyn Jones, Iain Henderson


Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric, Ross Moriarty

Number 8s:

Billy Vunipola, Toby Faletau


Major omissions from the squad include England captain Dylan Hartley and Six Nations regular Joe Launchbury.

The Lions play 10 games this summer with three of those being tests against the All Blacks.

The first test will be played on June 24th with the other two on July 1st and July 8th.


See Also: 5 Of The Most Random Lions Tourists In Recent Memory

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com