• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Warren Gatland Makes Sweeping Changes For Second Lions Test Against New Zealand

Warren Gatland Makes Sweeping Changes For Second Lions Test Against New Zealand

Warren Gatland Makes Sweeping Changes For Second Lions Test Against New Zealand
By Gavin Cooney
Share this article

The Lions team for the second Test has been named.

After the All Blacks outscored them 2:1 in the first Test, the Lions need to win on Saturday morning to maintain this series as a going concern.

Wellington is the venue, with the All Blacks making two enforced changes to their starting team: Ryan Crotty and Ben Smith are out through injury, but they have two very able deputies: in come Anton  Lienert-Brown and Waisake Naholo. Otherwise, it is as you were.

The Lions, meanwhile, have dropped Peter O'Mahony in favour of series captain Sam Warburton. There are other, big changes: Johnny Sexton starts at out-half, with Owen Farrell moving to inside-centre. Ben Te'o drops to the bench. Elsewhere, Alun-Wyn Jones surprisingly retains his place, with Maro Itoje replacing George Kruis in the second-row.

There are no further changes to the starting team, although O'Mahony drops out of the squad entirely. His Munster colleague CJ Stander makes the bench, as does Jack Nowell. Leigh Halfpenny is the fall-guy in relation to the latter.


Courtney Lawes makes the bench, with Kruis dropping out entirely.

Here is the Lions team for the second Test in full.


Lions Team for the second Test 

15. Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales, #833
14. Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England, #816
13. Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, #778
12. Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, #780
11. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England, #822
10. Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, #791
9. Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland, #790

1. Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, #787
2. Jamie George – Saracens, England, #819
3. Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland, #818
4. Maro Itoje – Saracens, England, #825
5. Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, #761
6. Sam Warburton (capt) – Cardiff Blues, Wales, #800
7. Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland, #796
8. Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, #779

And here are the replacements:


16. Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, #829
17. Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, #827
18. Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England, #814
19. Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England, #826
20. CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, #831
21. Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, #820
22. Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England, #815
23. Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England, #828

Kick off is at 8.35am Irish time on Saturday morning.

See Also: Hurricanes Draw Further Highlights The Bullshit Of Gatland's Extra Call-Ups

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com