Six Changes As Lions Team Named For Final Springboks Test

Six Changes As Lions Team Named For Final Springboks Test

Warren Gatland has made a whopping six changes to the Lions team to start the third test against the Springboks this weekend from the one which lost to South Africa on Saturday.

At fullback, Liam Williams replaces Stuart Hogg while Josh Adams will make his Lions test debut on the wing in place of Anthony Watson.

At inside centre, Bundee Aki comes in for Chris Harris. He will partner Ireland teammate Robbie Henshaw in midfield. There is a change at scrum-half with Ali Price replacing Conor Murray, who takes a spot on the bench.

At loosehead prop, Wyn Jones is set for his Lions test debut as he comes in for Mako Vunipola. The final change is at hooker with Ken Owens being promoted from the bench in place of Luke Cowan-Dickie.

In all the team features four Irish starters, along with Murray on the bench. There is no spot for Tadhg Berine among the replacements. The Munster forward has lost his place to Adam Beard, while Sam Simmonds comes in for Toby Faletau and Finn Russell for Owen Farrell.

Lions team to play South Africa in third test

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales)
14. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby, Wales)
13. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland)
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland)
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland)
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales)
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)
1. Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, England)
5. Alun Wyn Jones – captain (Ospreys, Wales)
6. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England)
7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England)
8. Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland)



16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England)
18. *Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, England) – subject to outcome of disciplinary hearing.
19. Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales)
20. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England)
21. Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland)
22. Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland)
23. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England)

Photo by Ian Rutherford/Sportsfile

Watch: Heated Rugby League Brawl Sees Punches Flying And Two Sent Off

lions team third test south africa

PJ Browne
Article written by

You may also like