• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Iain Henderson To Captain Lions Team Against Sharks

Iain Henderson To Captain Lions Team Against Sharks

Iain Henderson To Captain Lions Team Against Sharks
By PJ Browne Updated
Share this article

Iain Henderson will captain the Lions on Wednesday evening in their second game of this summer's tour of South Africa against the Sharks.

The Ulster second row is one of two Irish starters for the game, the other being Bundee Aki at inside centre.

The bench features a further four Irish players: Tadhg Furlong, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan and tour captain Conor Murray.

England's Tom Curry, along with Welsh pair Josh Navidi and Adam Beard, are all set to make their Lions debuts in the game.

"It’s a quick turnaround from Saturday, but we’ll be ready to go by Wednesday night,” said Lions head coach Warren Gatland.

"I’m pleased we managed to come through the weekend’s game unscathed, and the boys have rested and recovered well. We feel like we’re slowly building, but, as ever, there’s still room for improvement in all facets of our game.

"Wednesday night is another chance for us to have a look at a few more combinations. I’m looking forward to seeing how the back row goes; it’s an exciting mixture and one that we hope will offer something a bit different.


"We expect another physical test against a side who are known for their power play and ambition."

Wednesday's game kicks off at 6pm Irish time.

Lions team to play Sharks

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales)


14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England)

13. Elliot Daly (Saracens, England)

12. Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland)


11. Duhan van der Merwe (Worcester Warriors, Scotland)

10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales)

9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales)


1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England)

2. Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England)

3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland)


4. Iain Henderson – Captain (Ulster Rugby, Ireland)

5. Adam Beard (Ospreys, Wales)

6. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby, Wales)


7. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England)

8. Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England)


16. Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales)

17. Rory Sutherland (Worcester Warriors, Scotland)

18. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland)

19. Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland)

20. Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland)

21. Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland)

22. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland)

23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland)

See Also: Horgan And McKinley Shoot Down Scot's Lions Test Credentials

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com