• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • As It Happened: Ireland U20s Are Crowned Six Nations Champions

As It Happened: Ireland U20s Are Crowned Six Nations Champions

As It Happened: Ireland U20s Are Crowned Six Nations Champions
Gary Connaughton
By Gary Connaughton
Share this article

Ireland u20s will continue their hunt for a Grand Slam this evening, when they host France at Irish Independent Park in Cork. Having won their opening four games, Noel McNamara's side find themselves in an incredibly strong position heading into this game. Our liveblog will provide you with all of the Ireland u20 vs France U20s live updates.

There is one change to the side who had a convincing win over Italy two weeks ago, with Sean Franch coming into the centre in place of the injured David Hawkshaw. The captain of the side, Hawkshaw has been in tremendous form so far in the championship, and Cork Con's French will have big boots to fill.

Ireland u20s vs France U20s Live Updates


On announcing the side, McNamara also spoke about the absence of captain Hawkshaw:

We were pleased to come home from Italy with a bonus point win, but there are still elements that we feel can be improved on, so it’s about continuing to progress as we move through the tournament.

The French are still in the hunt for the title and they are a big side, so for us it’s about sticking to our game-plan and looking to match their physicality.

The players took so much from the atmosphere at Irish Independent Park on the opening night against England and are itching to get back out there this week.

It’s really unfortunate for David Hawkshaw to miss out. He’s been in great form on the pitch and has been a fantastic leader of the side. Everyone wishes him well in his recovery.

Ireland team:


15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. Sean French (Cork Constitution/Munster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
5. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7. Scott Penny (UCD RFC/Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC/Munster)

16. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17. Callum Reid (Banbridge/Ulster)
18. Ryan Lomas (Galwegians/Connacht)
19. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster) *
20. David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
21. Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College / Leinster)
22. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
23. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com