• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Nigel Owens Explains Why George Kruis' Back-Heel Conversion Should Not Have Stood

Nigel Owens Explains Why George Kruis' Back-Heel Conversion Should Not Have Stood

Nigel Owens Explains Why George Kruis' Back-Heel Conversion Should Not Have Stood
Gary Connaughton
By Gary Connaughton
Share this article

The return of international rugby is just around the corner, although we did get a small taste of what is to come in the months at Twickenham last weekend.

An understrength England side would take on the Barbarians, and while a number of players in Eddie Jones' side would have been hoping to nail down their place on the plane to Australia with a good performance, few would have predicted how the game would play out.

Not only would the 14-man Barbarians pull off a surprise victory, but they would absolutely annihilate the home side on a 52-21 scoreline. It was a chastening afternoon for Eddie Jones who is coming under increasing pressure in his position as head coach.

There were a number of interesting moments in the game, but none more so than a George Kruis conversion. The former England lock would actually score three conversions in the game, with his back-heeled effort in the second half going viral after the game.


It was a great moment, but as it turns out, it shouldn't have stood.

Nigel Owens says George Kruis conversion should not have stood

While this was hardly a game of massive consequence, it appears as though Kruis got away with one here.

Speaking to World Rugby, former referee Nigel Owens said that back-heeled conversions are not permitted under the laws of the game. He went on to explain exactly why that is the case.



George Kruis', shall we say, very interesting back-heel conversion.

Well George, you were very, very lucky to be awarded this because a back-heel is not a kick.

A kick defined in law means you kick the ball anywhere between the knee and your foot. The ball off the thigh or off the knee is not deemed to be a kick, and a backward heel kick like that is not deemed to be a kick.

So although it's Barbarians rugby, it shouldn't have been allowed.

The referee was never going to disallow the conversion in a Barbarians game.

However, players should keep this in mind if they plan on attempting something similar in the World Cup final next year.


SEE ALSO: Can Super Rugby Winner Jager Be Enticed Back To Irish Rugby?

irish rugby jager
Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com