• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • No James Lowe As Ireland Squad Announced For Six Nations

No James Lowe As Ireland Squad Announced For Six Nations

No James Lowe As Ireland Squad Announced For Six Nations
By Jonathan Browne
Share this article

Andy Farrell has announced his 37-man Ireland squad for the 2022 Six Nations as they look to continue the momentum they gathered during the Autumn Nations Series.

The squad is largely left unchanged from the huge success that was the Autumn Nations Series where they recorded three victories over the All blacks, Argentina and Japan.

But the major exclusion in this squad from the one in November has to be James Lowe. Despite some brilliant play last Sunday after Montpellier at the RDS, the Leinster winger has been ruled out for a number of weeks due to a muscle injury. Simon Zebo has also not been called up to the squad, having been called back to the Ireland squad in November.


There are a couple of new call-ups in the form of Mack Hansen and Michael Lowry, who get a chance to make their Ireland debuts this Six Nations. Connacht's back row Cian Prendergast will join the squad in their training camp in Portugal as a development player.


Jack Carty and Kieran Treadwell also earn recalls to the Ireland squad. Carty hasn't played for Ireland since the 2019 World Cup. Treadwell on the other hand hasn't played for Ireland since the 2017 Summer tour of the USA.

Ireland's Six Nations campaign begins on Saturday 5th February when they host Wales at what hopefully will be a full Aviva Stadium. They'll then host Scotland and Italy while facing daunting trips to Paris and London to face France and England.

Ireland's Six Nations 2022 Squad

Ireland Squad List

Forwards (20)
Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 6 caps
Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 18 caps
Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 25 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 22 caps
Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 12 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 52 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 112 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 65 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 23 caps
Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 16 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 45 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 79 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 2 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 40 caps
James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 40 caps
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 2 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 3 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 35 caps


Backs (17)
Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 33 caps
Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) 2 caps
Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 27 caps
Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 10 caps
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 4 caps
Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 27 caps
Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 96 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 12 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht) uncapped
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 53 caps
James Hume (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 16 caps
Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 30 caps
Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) uncapped
Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 92 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 37 caps
Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 101 caps CAPTAIN

See Also: The Fascinating Journeys Of The 2012 Ireland's U20 Rugby Team

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com