• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • RTÉ Announce Rugby World Cup Punditry Line-Up

RTÉ Announce Rugby World Cup Punditry Line-Up

RTÉ Announce Rugby World Cup Punditry Line-Up
Balls Team
By Balls Team
Share this article

RTÉ has confirmed its punditry team for this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan.

Former Irish internationals Jamie Heaslip and Stephen Ferris will provide their expert opinion and analysis throughout the tournament alongside World Cup-winning Australian captain Michael Lynagh.

Irish Six Nations-winning captain Fiona Coghlan, former Ireland head coach Eddie O’Sullivan, Brent Pope, Bernard Jackman, Ian Madigan, Rob Penney and Alastair Kellock complete RTÉ’s line-up.


Daire O’Brien will present coverage of all the live games on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player with Donal Lenihan alongside Hugh Cahill on commentary. Clare MacNamara will present 16 highlights programmes.

Michael Corcoran will have live commentary of all of Ireland’s games on RTÉ Radio 1 and he will be joined on commentary by Bernard Jackman, former Munster head coach Rob Penney and for Ireland v Scotland, former Scottish international Alastair Kellock. Ian Madigan, Fiona Coghlan and Bernard Jackman will make-up the RTÉ Radio 1 panel.

RTÉ will broadcast 14 games in total including all of Ireland's fixtures. The tournament gets underway on September 21st with Japan vs Russia. Ireland's first game, against Scotland, is on September 22nd.

The national broadcaster last year agreed a sub-licensing deal with eir Sport to show the games. All 48 of the matches from the tournament will be shown by eir Sport.


Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

See Also: Wayne Barnes, World Cup Fever, Rugby's New Trend - World In Union

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are now subscribed!

Share this article

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com