• Home
  • /
  • Rugby
  • /
  • Seven Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Take On France

Seven Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Take On France

Seven Changes For Ireland U20 Team To Take On France
By Andrew Dempsey
Share this article

Ireland U20 Head Coach Richie Murphy has made seven changes to his side ahead of Tuesday’s final Six Nations clash against France in Cardiff.

Murphy’s charges will be eyeing their fourth win of the competition after seeing off Italy last time out with a 30-23 win.

Ireland were behind at the break against the Italians by 11 points before reeling the Azzurri in and seeing them off in the second-half.

Leinster’s Jamie Osborne continues at full-back and is joined in the back three by Ben Moxham and Shane Jennings, while Jude Postlethwaite starts in midfield alongside the returning Cathal Forde.


Skipper Alex Kendellen will be joined in the back row by Alex Soroka at blindside flanker and Oisin McCormack at seven.

Speaking ahead of the game, coach Richie Murphy was eager to see the team finish the championship off on a high.

It has been a long Championship, but the group has been able to refocus and reset after last week’s win over Italy and we’re all really looking forward to the last game of the campaign.

It has taken a huge effort from everyone involved but we have grown as a squad over the last five weeks, and we’re excited to see how we can perform against France.

Photo by Gareth Everitt/Sportsfile

Ireland v France is live on RTÉ2, and it also be live on the Six Nations YouTube channel.

Ireland U20 team to play France in Six Nations

15. Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster)


14. Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

13. Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

12. Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Corinthians RFC/Connacht)


11. Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

10. Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

9. Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)



1. Temi Lasisi (CBS Enniscorthy/Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

2. Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster)


3. Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)

4. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

5. Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster)

6. Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster)

7. Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)

8. Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)(Captain)


16. Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin/An Ghaeltacht/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

17. George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

18. Liam Bishop (Trent College/Nottingham University/IQ Rugby)

19. Jack Kelleher (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster)

20. Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

21. Will Reilly (St Mary’s CBS Portlaoise/MU Barnhall RFC/Leinster)

22. Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

23. Chris Cosgrave (St Michael’s College/UCD RFC/Leinster)

24. Fearghail O’Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster)

25. Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht)

26. Chay Mullins (SGC Filton/Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby).

SEE ALSO: A Definitive List of England's Biggest Sporting Heartbreaks

Join The Monday Club Have a tip or something brilliant you wanted to share on? We're looking for loyal Balls readers free-to-join members club where top tipsters can win prizes and Balls merchandise

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now!

Share this article

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com