Six Uncapped Players Included In Ireland's 2020 Six Nations Squad

Six Uncapped Players Included In Ireland's 2020 Six Nations Squad

International rugby is scheduled to return to our lives later this month as Ireland will finally finish its 2020 Six Nations with games against Italy and France. A lot has happened on planet Earth since Ireland's last international match: a 24-12 hammering at the hands of England at Twickenham.

Ireland coach Andy Farrell has this morning named an Ireland squad that features six uncapped players. Leinster's man mountain Ryan Baird, Ed Byrne, Will Connors,  Hugo Keenan and Jamison Gibson Park have all been called up for the first time, as has Munster fullback Shane Daly.

James Lowe becomes Ireland-eligible in early November and he joins the likes of Harry Byrne, Craig Casey, James Tracy and Fineen Wycherley in a group that will train with the Ireland squad next week.


Tadhg Furlong will miss out through injury.

Devin Toner, Luke McGrath and John Cooney were Farrell's original 2020 Six Nations training squad but have not been selected. Cooney had been pushing hard for the Ireland #9 shirt back in the winter but his form has dipped since lockdown.

"The return to rugby has not been without its challenges as some players have suffered injury setbacks and there has been limited playing opportunities ahead of a busy and exciting international window.  We will be closely monitoring the form and fitness of players competing in the Guinness PRO14 over the coming weeks," Andy Farrell said.

Balls Team

You may also like