Report: Six Nations To Become Seven After Next World Cup

Report: Six Nations To Become Seven After Next World Cup

The Six Nations could become the Seven Nations after the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

The Daily Mail reports that South Africa are in talks to join the tournament.

It is said that "negotiations have been going on behind the scenes for some time and there is now a sense of inevitability" that they will make the move to the northern hemisphere tournament in 2024. A source also told the paper that, "Things are falling nicely into place".

It would see Italy continue to play in the competition rather than being replaced by the Springboks.

South Africa currently compete in the southern hemisphere's annual tournament, the Rugby Championship, along with Australia, New Zealand and Argentina.


Already, two South African club teams - the Cheetahs and Southern Kings - play in the Pro14. They joined the competition ahead of the 2017/18 season.

The lesser time difference between Europe and South Africa, compared to that between the country and Australia and New Zealand, makes the involvement with European competitions attractive from both a travel and television rights perspective.

Picture credit: Sportsfile

See Also: Ireland U20s Producing Ultra-Modern Batch Of Complete Forwards

Balls Team

You may also like